Welcome to the MCU

Welcome to the Munster Chess Union website which promotes chess in Munster. These pages will provide access to information about the Munster Chess Leagues, Chess Clubs in Munster and any other information relevant to chess players and clubs in the region.

As well as MCU information we are also happy to publish announcements and reports on behalf of chess clubs in the region.

League Schedule Update

The second half of the Munster League will start on Sunday 5th February. Rounds 8 and 9 of Division 1 will be played in the Charleville Park Hotel starting at 12:00 noon.

Division 2 will also recommence on the same date. The draw for the remaining Division 2 matches will be finalised shortly.

Unfortunately the remaining dates cannot be confirmed yet as there are clashes with the Galway Congress and possibly other events to be avoided. Obviously the MCU want to avoid clashes with other chess events to facilitate members.

49th Mulcachy Memorial Tournament

A reminder that the 49th Mulcachy Memorial Tournament will take place in the Metropole Gresham Hotel, Cork from January 6th to January 8th. The prize fund is €1500 and it is a single open section tournament. The full details are available on the pdf entry form here.

Online entry and further details are also available via the ICU website here. Reduced rate entry is available until 27th December.

Munster Christmas Blitz Championship

Following Round 7 of the Division 1 League a Munster Chess Christmas Blitz competition was held. Eleven players took part. While most participants had played in the league matches, three had come specifically for the blitz. The rate of play was 3 minutes with a 2 second per move increment.

The number of rounds was reduced to six rather than the advertised seven because of the relatively low numbers. The games were generally very competitive and of a high standard. Overall it was a very enjoyable event.

The overall winner on 6 out of 6 was Ioana Gelip. Second place on 5 out of 6 was Paul Walsh who gets the Munster Blitz Champion title. Clear third place went to Jacob Miller on 4 out of 6.

Continued ...