Munster Leagues Schedule Update

The date for Rounds 7 and 8 of the Munster Leagues has been brought forward to 16th April 2023 to avoid a clash with the National Club Championships.
The full revised Division 1 Schedule is here.
And the full Division 2 Schedule is here.

Munster Junior Championships 2022

The Munster Junior Championships 2022 took place in Ennis last weekend (12th and 13th November). A full report of results with photos can be found on the Limerick Chess Club Website.

In summary the under 18 winner was Roy Marshall (Ennis), the under 16 winner was Con Kirby (Limerick) and the under 14 winner was George Stack (Limerick).

Overall winner was Con Kirby who won a close game against George Stack in the final round. George Stack and Mark McGrath (Cork) were joint runners up. Congratulations to all the prizewinners. Judging by the standard of several games I saw the standard of Junior Chess in Munster is very good.

Munster Leagues 2022/2023 Schedule

The schedules for the 2022/2023 leagues are now available for both divisions.
The Division 1 Schedule is here.
And the Division 2 Schedule is here.

Munster Leagues 2019/2020 Results

The final two rounds of the 2019/2020 Munster Leagues were, at long last, completed on Sunday 23rd October at the Charleville Park Hotel. This brings to a close the longest league 'season' in the history of Munster Chess. Both Divisions involved very close finishes with the lead changing in the final two rounds. Due to the late finishes and narrow margins the presentations of prizes were deferred to Sunday 4th December just before the 2022/2023 league starts.

Division 1 Result

Congratulations to Ennis A who won the Division 1 Trophy.

Sarsfield were worthy runners up after losing out on game points scored. Full details of the final results and tie breaks can be found here. Limerick B will be relegated to Division 2 next season.

Division 2 Result

Congratulations to Charleville who won the Division 2 Trophy and will be promoted to Division 1 next year.

Galway, who were half a match point behind Charleville, finished second in their first year in the Munster League. Full details of the final results and tie breaks can be found here.

Munster Chess Union AGM

Shortly before the start of Round 9 a brief AGM was held as notified by the MCU secretary Lukasz Daros in an email to the clubs back in late July. The pdf version is available here.

A quorum for the AGM (at least 10 members and four clubs present) was achieved and Ray O'Brien acted as chairman as unfortunately John Cassidy was absent due to being unwell on the day. The trasurer Paul Dowdall was also unable to attend due to being in hospital.

One motion was put forward that the current committee should continue in office until the next AGM at the end of the current season. This proposal was agreed without dissent and the AGM was closed.

Continued ...