Munster Championship 2015 Results

Click on any of the images for a full size view.

Overall Winner Paul Walsh being presented with the Cup by Alan Salsac, Munster Chess Union Chairman.

Paul was undefeated with four wins and a draw with Philip Short in Round 3.

Runner up Rory Quinn receiving his prize.

Philip Short and Orison Carlile came joint third.

Philip ruefully remarked that it had proved easier to win the Irish than the Munster Championship.

The grading prize was won by Eric Salsac here being congratulated by a proud Dad!!

Eric entered the tournament as the second lowest rated player at 1483.

He finished with 3 out of 5 (two wins, two draws, one loss) and a tournament performance rating of 1937.

In his introductory remarks Alan thanked the organising sub-committee of Gerry Graham, John Cassidy, Frank Noonan and Pat Twomey for their work in bringing the Munster Championship back as a standalone event.

Thanks are also due to Pat Twomey for keeping the Munster Championship on life-support as part of the Mulchachy Memorial Tournament for several years.

We all look forward to its successful return in 2016.

Joe Browne Cup Results ...