Munster Chess Union Constitution


4.1 There shall be held each year an Annual General Meeting (hereinafter referred to as "the AGM") attendance at which shall be open to all individual members in good standing with the MCU.

4.2 The AGM shall be held not later than the first Sunday of September each year.

4.3 The Secretary shall give not less than fourteen clear days notice in writing to the secretary of each affiliated Club, setting out the date, time and place of the AGM, and the agenda to be discussed thereat, and it shall be the responsibility of the said Club secretary to ensure that all members of that Club are fully informed of the notice and its content. The requirement to give notice of the AGM under this paragraph shall be deemed to have been satisfied if and when the secretaries of all the affiliated clubs have been notified in accordance herewith.

4.3.1 The first AGM to be called under this constitution shall be held immediately after the General Meeting called for the purpose of adopting the said constitution, and notice of such AGM shall be deemed to have being given in the notice calling the said General Meeting, which shall be as set out in Clause 4.3 above.

4.4 The agenda for the AGM shall consist of the following items:-

  1. Apologies for absence.
  2. Minutes of the previous AGM and any Extraordinary General Meeting held since then.
  3. Chairman's address.
  4. Secretary's report.
  5. Treasurer's report, which shall include a presentation of the annual accounts, and a recommendation on the annual membership subscription for the coming year.
  6. League Controller�s report.
  7. Election of Officers and Committee as listed in Clause 3.1 above.
  8. Motions of which the Secretary has been advised prior to the dispatch of notice under Clause 4.3 above.
  9. Any motions of which due notice shall have been given to the Secretary in accordance with Clause 4.5 below.

Continued ...


  1. General
  2. Membership
  3. Committee and Officers
  4. Meetings
  5. Meetings (ii)
  6. Meetings (iii)
  7. Rules and Dissolution
  8. Constitution (pdf)
  9. Constitution 2011(pdf)