Munster Junior Chess Championships 2017

The Munster Junior Chess Championships were held on 2nd and 3rd December 2017 at the West County Hotel, Ennis. This brief report lists the winners and shows a number of photographs from the event.

The event was very well attended with players coming from Ennis, Limerick, Cork and Kerry. In addition players came from Galway, Ballinasloe, Belfast, Donegal and Tyrone. While all the players were elegible to win prizes only Munster residents could be awarded the titles.

Under 8

Boys Champion: Josef Podzimek.

Girls Champion: Aisling Murphy.

Under 10

Boys Champion: Josef Podzimek.

Girls Champion: Ludmila Podzimkova.

This was an unusual result because Ludmila Podzimkova was the overall winner of the Under 10 section as well as winning the title as Girls Champion.

There was a three way tie among the boys between Josef Podzimek, Dylan Rushe and Adam Fitzsimons. Josef beat Dylan in a blitz tie break game to win the title with Adam coming third.

The final point worth noting in this section is that Ludmila is Josef's older sister. So they certainly had a good day out.

Under 12

Boys Champion: Con Kirby.

Girls Champion: Jana Solomatina.

A strong performance by Con wnning on 5 out of 5. Cody Coughlan was second with Andrew Finnerty coming third.

Under 14

Boys Champion: Dylan Murphy

Dylan finished on 5 out of 5. Tadgh Holland was second. David O'Mahony and Brian McNulty came joint third.

Under 16

Boys Champion: Adam Rushe

Congratulations to all the winners and a thank you to John Cassidy, Brendan Buckley, Neal Kirby, Noel Keating and all their helpers. Click the links below to see some photos from the event

Continued ...